Wrenchhead
Wrenchhead
Reactions score: 0
Make/Model: Frontier KC
Year: 2005
Tim's: R

Titan Swap Anyone?

Post by FrontyFlyer »

Alright, Im a noob here and i may be outa line asking for help right away, but if i can get this done i think some of us may benefit from it and I'm willing to share all my secrets and advise should they want to try this.

Im sure everyone with the 2nd gen knows they can swap out Titan arms and have a 6" wider track and 3-4" more travel, and much beefier arms. But Im sure you also know what a PITA getting extended axle shafts from PRG is ($500+ just for the shaft, no cv's, and there out of stock right now)

I think this is dooable for much MUCH cheaper, infact I have gathered most of the parts and a second set of CV's I can experiment with for about $500:

The problem is finding the ext. length. the CVs axles travel up and down with the susp, as well as stretch in/out due to the angle they are on. In order to find this length i came up with the bright idea of hacking a spare shaft in half, and installing one half to the hub and the other to diff. With the Titan arms on, and springs off, I can easily study the movement of the suspension and find a comfortable length bar so the cv's aren't over stretched/ squished during susp movement.

I've got next week off to do this, i will post pics of my progress (if i make any). Feel free to chime in with any suggestions
05' Frontier 6speed- 35"s locked, lifted, broken in
Bow_Tied
Reactions score: 3
Make/Model: Xterra P4X ZR2 Bison
Year: '15/20
Tim's: Medium DD

Re: Titan Swap Anyone?

Post by Bow_Tied »

Neat idea.

Would you be able to torque the axle nut properly on half a shaft?