Kind of Stupid Question - Highway Range?

General Chat about the forum, it's members & their trucks.
studum
I've used 4-lo
I've used 4-lo
Reactions score: 0
Make/Model: Frontier CC SC
Year: 2003
Tim's: Large 1 milk

Kind of Stupid Question - Highway Range?

Post by studum »

As the title says, I feel a bit stupid asking this. Leaving for our roadie to NB on Thursday night / Friday morning and just trying to make sure everything is good to go. I can't stand being in my wife's Accent for more than 2 hrs at a time, so I'm taking the truck on the 16ish hr drive. I'm usually the one with the touring car, but this is my first year with the truck as I got it about a week after our return from the trip last year, I really don've have confidence in the econo box going that far. Not that the car won't make it but that I will not enjoy driving it - like at all.

I know I'll be taking a hit with the fuel effeciency by taking the truck, but it has passing power, a better stereo and most importantly cruise control (i.e. no stupid speeding tickets). Overall I think it will be the more comfortable and thus safer choice.

I've never driven the truck all-highway before and I have no idea what kind of range I should be expecting. I have a few of these trips under my belt already and previous vehicles were much more fuel efficient and I would always stop at the Ontario / Quebec border to fill and then again at either Riviere Du Loop or Edmunston to fill up again and that'd get me to my destination (Moncton area).

Can anyone give me a ball park of what to expect range-wise? 400kms? Just trying to figure out where I should be stopping, like before the gas light comes on. Does anyone know the size of the reserve when the light comes on? Again I knew my other cars well, but I've never really tested the truck to see how far it'll go with the light on.