Lugnut
Reactions score: 0
Make/Model: Nissan xterra SE
Year: 2003
Tim's: caramel lattee

modification advice anyone?

Post by caseyxterra »

Hey ya'll !

Just bought my baby about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Shes a red 2003 Nissan Xterra (obviously), with 140 000 kms. Great truck, i'm in love with it. Had already taken it out off roading a good couple times and had lots of fun!

This spring i'm thinking to do some modification to be able to do a lot more off-roading without doing any damage and/or to off-road easier and I've been looking at some winch bumpers, suspension lifts, tires, roof lights and stuff like that. I'm still new to all the off-roading stuff therefor i'm Just looking for advice on what modification should be done first and/or what is needed most importantly. Also read that a CB radio is also handy, am i right ?

thanks guys!
Scotto
Make/Model: Xterra Off Road
Year: 2006
Tim's: L Reg

Re: modification advice anyone?

Post by Scotto »

Wow. Let's see...

It depends what type of trails you want to do. But, in general, from more important to yeah, sure you could there:

- a suspension lift (even a PML) is good. If you can get the truck up on 31"s it's good. This involves a few things, depending on your route. It can be as easy as some new leaf shackles and a torsion bar twist. Or new UCAs... It kind of depends on your decision.
- skid plates. There's a bunch of stuff under the truck that really you don't want to hit with a rock. Get some plates for the bottom. The front part of the truck where the engine is for sure, and maybe a tranny plate if you can.
- sliders. These are the things that protect the side of the truck from becoming scrambled eggs. They replace the little step-rails that are probably on your truck now (and should be removed ASAP). Sliders are a great investment.
- a good roof rack.
- breather tubes to extend your axle and tranny vents.